Canvas
Versions, Draft and Publish
Saving your work
There are a couple of different ways to save your work: versions, draft, publish and auto saves. Technically, all of these are versions. They are just different types of versions.
You can view all your versions by navigating to the “options” menu in the top right corner and clicking “Show version log”.
Whenever you open a new model, we save that this model now exists. As you continue to build your model, you should save your work via CMD/CTRL+SHIFT+S or through the “options” menu in the top right corner. This will save a draft of your work. If you at any point loose your work, we automatically create an auto-save every 30 seconds. We store up to 5 auto-saves per model per user.
A version is a snapshot of your work at a given point in time. The only difference between a version and a draft is that a comment is required for a version. We recommend using versions to summarize your work after completing a part of a model. It makes it easier to understand what you have done and to revert to a previous version if needed.
A published version also requires a comment. We recommend publishing when you have completed a model. Only models with a published version can be scheduled. The smart thing is that you can have a published version running on a schedule and still make changes to the model as a draft. Whenever you’re ready to publish your model, you can simply publish the draft and it will overwrite the published version.
If you want to compare that version to another version, you can do so by clicking on the version you want to compare to and then the “Compare” button.